Contact Us


Board of Commissioners


Related Sites

Search Site


MDHA Communities

Rental Assistance Voucher Program

Other HUD Subsidized Housing

Fair Housing

Affordable Housing & NSP


Urban Development

Community Development

Disaster Recovery

Plans & Reports


Community Development Overview


Neighborhood Stabilization Program

CDBG Recovery (CDBG-R) Program

Consolidated Plan Update

Neighborhood Programs

Weatherization Assistance Program


Procurement Opportunities

Diversity Business Enterprise Program

Handbook for Section 8 Landlords

Section 3 Employment & Contracting


Employment, Training & Educational Programs

Family Self-Sufficiency Program

Farm in the City

How to Avoid Eviction

MDHA Youth


MDHA Security

Resident Success Stories

Smoking Cessation

Senior Services

Social Service Coordinators


Press Releases

Public Documents


Redevelopment Districts

Nashville’s redevelopment districts are established to ensure the use and long-term viability of the urban areas that they encompass. In keeping with its mission, MDHA’s administration of the districts aims to strategically reverse disinvestment and blight and promote redevelopment that is sustainable from economic, environmental, aesthetic, public safety, and historic preservationist perspectives. Although specific goals differ across districts, all include strategies for achieving vibrant mixes of land use, income levels, and modes of transportation.

MDHA has also adopted guidelines for the design and placement of signage in redevelopment districts.

Arts Center Redevelopment District

Established in 1998 for redevelopment activities along portions of Demonbreun Street and the Gulch. Completed in 2028.

Capitol Hill Redevelopment District

Established in 1952. Ensures appropriate development in the area surrounding the Tennessee State Capitol. Automatically renews every 10 years.

Capitol Mall Redevelopment District

Established in 1978 for redevelopment activities in downtown Nashville. Completed in 2030.

Central State Redevelopment District

Established in 1999, contains property located in proximity to the Nashville International Airport. Completed in 2039.

East Bank Redevelopment District

Established in 1996 for redevelopment activities on the East Bank of the Cumberland River. Completed in 2025.

Five Points Redevelopment District

Established in 1991 for redevelopment activities in the Five Points neighborhood. Completed in 2020.

Jefferson Street Redevelopment District

Established in 2005 for redevelopment activities along portions of Jefferson Street. Completed in 2035.

Phillips Jackson Redevelopment District

Established in 1993 for redevelopment activities in several neighborhoods to the north of downtown Nashville. Completed in 2024.

Rutledge Hill Redevelopment District

Established in 1980 for redevelopment activities in areas south of downtown Nashville. Completed in 2040.

Skyline Redevelopment District

Established in 2007 for redevelopment activities along portions of Dickerson Pike. Completed in 2007.

Submittals for MDHA Design Review are due by 4 p.m. on the Wednesday prior to the Tuesday review meeting. For more information about design review or to submit plans, contact Parker Brown in MDHA’s Development Office at 615-252-3750.